Power Equipment Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I have a portable 6500 watt Honda generator that I want to connect up to the house via 30 Amp with a transfer switch using at least 10 circuits on the panel. I know of one from Reliance controls and APC. I'm leaning towards the APC one. Are there any others I should look at? Do any offer functionality with an iPhone?

·
Registered
402 Posts
Hi Crowman,

Would you consider an interlock? You would then be able to run ANY circuit in your home. Most panel manufacturers make them.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
aandpdan,

I'm open to all options. I'm new to that and just been looking it up. Looks like it goes into the panel (I have ITE) and is connected to the generator. When the power is out you need to shut off the main breaker from street power and turn on the Interlock to get power from the generator. Do I have that right, and would it power A and B side?

·
Registered
402 Posts
Correct.

You shut off the main then turn on the generator breaker. They are mechanically interlocked so only ONE can be on at a time.

It will feed the entire panel.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
So what are the pros and cons of a transfer switch and an interlock? It would seem:

Interlock
-easier to wire
-have to drill into panel cover
-Is it ok and up to code to have to power sources into a box like this even with interlock?
-can easily turn things off and on for entire box

Transfer switch
-don't have to drill into panel
-can only allow for 10 circuits

It seems like interlock is better but then why do people go with transfer switch?

·
Registered
402 Posts
Not all interlocks require drilling. If you check with your panel manufacturer you may find one. For example, my panel is a Murray. Murray makes a kit that "snaps" onto the main breakers - no drilling required.

It's UL approved and the local inspector had no problems with it.