Power Equipment Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I own a cheap Husky Air Compressor (Model: 0100211A) ...

My Understanding of Air Compressors

Now I'm no expert with air compressors but i am aware of the Tank Pressure Gauge and the Tool Pressure Gauge ;P . My understanding is when the air compressor is charging the Tank Pressure gauge will keep rising until the cut-off point (98 PSI, factory set) then cut-in come time to charge up (60 PSI, factory set). The Tool Pressure gauge will also climb to the point where the Air Pressure Regulator is set (mine is set for 50 PSI).

Furthermore, when the tool pressure gauge starts to fall the tank pressure side will compensate by topping up the tool pressure side so as to maintain the constant regulated pressure; so if the tool pressure starts to dip below 50 PSI then the tank pressure side will promptly compensate by moving some pressure over into the tool pressure side raising it back up to 50 PSI whereas the tank pressure side falls accordingly. Is this accurate?

Usage

During usage my Tank Pressure is at 98 PSI and Tool Pressure is at 50 PSI. When i hold down the wand to use up the tool pressure as expected the tool pressure drops quickly. The Tank Pressure, however, slowly drops. Its not until the tool pressure is at about 20 PSI and Tank Pressure has fallen to 60 PSI before the motor kicks in ...

When the motor kicks in the Tank Pressure Gauge slowly rises, however, the Tool Pressure Gauge remains at 20 PSI ...

My Problem