Power Equipment Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm in SE Texas and hurricane Laura is the first major storm since I had a Generac G0070432 (22KW/999 GUARD+200A SE T/SW AL) standby generator installed. I'm also new to hurricanes in general, so I had a couple of questions before it hits tomorrow night.
  1. Is it OK for the generator to run during a hurricane? I imagine the power will go out during the storm itself, and I wasn't sure if it's OK for it to run with the winds going on, or if it should be disabled until after the storm passes. (Note: I'm about 40 miles from the coast and it's expected to land as a cat 3 storm at the moment.)
  2. Does the generator need a break at some point? In other words, if the power is out for a week or more, do I need to let it turn off for a while at any point, or can it theoretically run for more than a week without a break?
  3. If I do need to disable it (either for #1 or #2 above), and if you own one of these or are familiar with the make/model, what is the simple way to do that? The panel looks pretty straightforward, but I don't want to accidentally do something that makes it not want to come back on.
Thanks!

·
Registered
1,437 Posts
make sure you have oil and an oil filter on hand!
ok as long as your gas source is ok natural or lp you should be set.
flooding can be an issue depending on where the generator is located
as well as trash in the air filter, depending on how much dust is stirred up before the storm hits
if you are on generator already.

run on ac grid power as long as you can..
as soon as the lights start to flicker, switch over to gen set asap!

this will eliminate the surge spike damage from the grid power due to shorting of LARGE power lines.
i have meters to monitor the grid power on my system when i am on generator..
so maybe use the look outside to see if the neighbors have grid power or if night see if the street lights are back on.