Power Equipment Forum banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi Folks, Newbie here.

I have a Gillette whole house generator with a Gillette Sentry-Pro ATSC1-1000 transfer switch. The schematic for the generator says it is a SP100-2 Vanguard-Dry Fuel (on LP) with an ESG-53 controller. The transfer switch says the Gen-Set is an SP85-LP. The schematic for the generator appears to be correct. The Owner's Manual for the transfer switch shows a slightly different Sentry-Pro controller that is on the generator and the Plant Exersisor is different (I believe a replacement). My problem is several.

For more than a year this unit has not worked (with one exception). The annunciator on the Gen-Set always showed "Voltage Fault". The Sentry-Pro in the transfer switch has a "Charge Battery" LED that could hardly be seen, perhaps it was usually off, and it always showed "Engine Fault", though I could use the Test "Standby/Run" switch to start the Gen-Set. When doing so, I would have to go to the Gen-Set and push the "Reset" rocker to shut it down, rather than just moving the Test switch back to "Standby". Only once did the power go off and the Gen-Set started AND the transfer switch worked. Strange.

Since then all annunciators have been off. Today I decided to investigate. The Test switch inside did nothing. I opened the panel on the Gen-Set with the controller and annunciators, and found the 10A glass fuse open. I replaced it and the "Voltage Fault" LED came on. I switched the Gen-Set from OFF to ON and after 10 seconds, the generator started and ran fine with 236V all the way to the transfer switch with the Sentry-Pro's "Engine Fault" off, and the "Charge Battery" LEDs on. When pressed "Reset" on the Gen-Set to turn it off, the annunciator (on the Gen-Set) went off too.