Power Equipment Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi there,

I'm a newbie so please bare with me. I'm debating which generator setup to buy, and looking for any recommendations or considerations I haven't thought of. I've also only been looking at inverter generators thus far because I understand they are safer for electronics, but the pricing is far higher and not sure it is necessary.

Key considerations:
  • I'm primarily looking for a home backup generator for when power outages occur (rarely, but I'm a prepper).
  • I like the ability to run multiple fuels just in case, especially natural gas since I have an external hookup on our patio
  • I like the ability to use a transfer switch vs. power cords
  • I like the option of portability in case we move (likely in about 5 years), help a neighbor/friend in need or buy a camper (although no present plans).
  • I mostly want to bring peace of mind and security to my wife and kids, so ease of use when I am traveling is important.
Too many choices and not sure which is best suited, since all require some sort of compromise.

Considering these potential options:

• Generac Guardian G007043 22KW Whole home generator - About $5K at Sam Club, but I believe installs will add a few thousand. (powers whole home, works on natural gas, stays with home/not portable, only 1 fuel type, backed by Sams Club or Costco)
  • Honda EU7000is large 7000w inverter generator (reliable, quiet, pretty powerful for an inverter, 120/240v will work with a transfer switch)
  • Honda EU3000is 3000W medium inverter generator (I like the durability of Honda, nice portability, will power necessities)
  • Firman 3200W WH02942 Duel Fuel inverter generator (like that it gas or propane, Costco return policy, less confident that it will work when needed)
As you can see, I am still very torn on what route to go, and would love some input on what you would do in my shoes.