Power Equipment Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey, I'm an Industrial Designer in Michigan and I want to help tie the disconnect between home generator users and generator manufacturers to ensure future generators address the issues current ones don't. I have a couple questions to help me better understand people's experiences with their generators, both good and bad. If you haven't gotten around to buying a new generator because non of the ones in the market fit your needs, or you bought one and are not satisfied, feel free to share your thoughts, experiences, and complaints below, so I can help push for those changes to be made. Also feel free to answer my questions, thank you in advance!

1) How does the idea of having a backup generator make you feel?

2) What is the worst power outage you have been in and what emotions come to mind when you remember that event?

3) Was this or any other power outage you’ve been in a result of a natural disaster? If so, what products made the biggest difference easing your overall experience?

4) Which other assets did you wish you had at the time to be better prepared for the event?

5) Did you know that more people tend to die from the carbon monoxide emitted by backup generators than the natural disaster itself? Would this knowledge influence your decision to buy a generator in the future?

6) If you could source the generator’s energy from anything other than fossil fuels, what would it be and why?

7) With a growing clean energy home battery backup industry, would you still consider gasoline, diesel, and natural gas backup generators as a viable solution to power outages, and why?

8) What functional and design elements do you appreciate the most about your generator?

9) What elements don’t you like about your generator?