Power Equipment Forum banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello,

I am a newbie to generators and this forum. Sorry for the long post. My Dad and I purchased an EU 2000 generator to power our oil burner which we measured at 500 Watts using a kill-a-watt meter.

We thought that a having the generator be approx 4 times the load of the boiler would be sufficient for the surge current when the boiler turns on.

We were half right, as the boiler starts up fairly normally when the ECONO mode is off, but when the ECON mode is on, the relay for the ignigtor toggles on and off many times before the burner fires up.

We can see the voltage dropping when it kicks on (we do have a fairly long extension cord, we will try a shorter one). We figure the boiler kicks on, you get a surge current which simulatneously causes the the generator to run faster AND drops the voltage enough to turn the relay off, the voltage jumps up and the relay kicks in again, this continues for several cycles (6 to 8 maybe ?) at which point the boiler turns on.

There are two concerns related to this, one is that we will damage the boiler by doing this long term, and the second is that conditions will change slightly such that instead of the boiler eventually firing up, the relay will clickon and off indefinitely.

We would prefer to keep it in econo mode to save on gas, as low gas consumption was a primarly reason for selecting a small generator.

Is there any way to keep econo mode on but increase surge capability ?

Some ideas that might not have merit, but I will ask for feedback on them anyway: