Power Equipment Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Stumbled upon this forum as I am in the market for a portable generator. I'm new to generators but I figure with all that's going on, it wouldn't be a bad idea to own one for the essentials like a fridge.

We do go camping a few times a year so would like to have the ability to bring as well.

Few questions,
  • what brands do I stay away from, based on experience, not what you've read?
  • in CA there's a company called Pulsar which seems to have a nice valued generator and was wondering if anyone had experience with it?
  • thinking about dual fuel to be able to use propane over gas. Propane to be able to sit for longer periods of time.
  • lastly, what's a suggested amount of watts I should consider? Is 4000 overkill and only need 2000?
Thanks in advanced everyone.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk

·
Registered
677 Posts
Stumbled upon this forum as I am in the market for a portable generator. I'm new to generators but I figure with all that's going on, it wouldn't be a bad idea to own one for the essentials like a fridge.

We do go camping a few times a year so would like to have the ability to bring as well.

Few questions,
  • what brands do I stay away from, based on experience, not what you've read?
  • in CA there's a company called Pulsar which seems to have a nice valued generator and was wondering if anyone had experience with it?
  • thinking about dual fuel to be able to use propane over gas. Propane to be able to sit for longer periods of time.
  • lastly, what's a suggested amount of watts I should consider? Is 4000 overkill and only need 2000?
Thanks in advanced everyone.

Sent from my Pixel 4 XL using Tapatalk
first things first welcome to the pef!
the BIG first question for you what is your generator budget?

yes on the LP generator! fuel storage time is unlimited as long as you can keep the tank high and dry. they can rust from the outside in.