Power Equipment Forum banner

Which Generator to Choose?

1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello all,

New to the forum. I'm glad I stumbled onto this as I feel a little out of my element trying to decide between these two generators. Looking for opinions on these or even suggest something I haven seen yet. I live somewhat out in the country in Eastern PA with no NG. We are all electric, but use heating oil supplemented with a wood stove. I have a couple diesel machines on the property. We loose power far too often and since I travel a lot for work and have 3 young kids, the wife and I decided enough is enough. I've decided I want a diesel whole house gen and these two are the ones I have found/been recommended so far.

Here are some of the pros and cons I have come up with so far. Keep in mind I am new to generators and am no electrician.

Kohler Pros
1. Appears to be a solid, well engineered generator. It weighs over 3000 pounds. (Generac is just over 2000)
2. It has access doors that open with latches and hinges.
3. It is prime power rated. (just in case the grid ever goes down for a long time)
4. My fathers a contractor, his trusted electrician said Kohler uses better electrical components than Generac FWIW

Kohler Cons
1. Literally only ONE dealer/installer/service provider within an hour of me.
2. Not sure about Kohler's made in Italy engines as far as longevity and parts availability. (I'd love to hear more)
3. Costs slightly more than the Generac
4. 6 months out on install backlog.

Generac Pros
1. They make nothing but generators
2. There are 25+ dealer/installer/service providers within an hour of me
3. The engine is a Perkins, made in England, but used all over the world in tractors, Bobcats, Caterpillar machines.
I feel good about longevity and parts availability.
4. Only 6-8 weeks out on install backlog.
5. Costs slightly less than the Kohler

Generac Cons
1. Appears to be less solidly built weighing 1000 pounds less.