Power Equipment Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a Cutler-Hammer panel in the garage as you can see in the pictures but the main breaker is outside for some reason? So even if I buy a Cutler-Hammer interlocker kit it won't work with what I have. What options do I have for an interlocker kit install?

Option 1 - Can do anything on the power panel in the garage? Move things around ? No idea as I am not an electrician
Option 2 - Can I do something on the box outside with the main breaker only? Will that box take any interlocker kit or I need something custom?

Many thanks

Attachments

·
Registered
48 Posts
I have a Cutler-Hammer panel in the garage as you can see in the pictures but the main breaker is outside for some reason? So even if I buy a Cutler-Hammer interlocker kit it won't work with what I have. What options do I have for an interlocker kit install?

Option 1 - Can do anything on the power panel in the garage? Move things around ? No idea as I am not an electrician
Option 2 - Can I do something on the box outside with the main breaker only? Will that box take any interlocker kit or I need something custom?

Many thanks
You would have to check with your power company, but you might be a good candidate for a Generlink on your meter for the generator connection instead of an interlock. The other option is an automated transfer switch.

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
You would have to check with your power company, but you might be a good candidate for a Generlink on your meter for the generator connection instead of an interlock. The other option is an automated transfer switch.

Thanks partner. yeah the GenerLink is BEAUTIFUL but CenterPoint energy does not allow it :(

What is an automated transfer switch? How would that work?

·
Registered
48 Posts
Thanks partner. yeah the GenerLink is BEAUTIFUL but CenterPoint energy does not allow it :(