Power Equipment Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all. New here, so I hope this hasn't been covered. Didn't find anything in a search...

I have an older (guessing late '80s) ES6500 that I use as backup power for my off-grid home to compliment wind and solar. I expect it's somewhat worn out, but it does run pretty well on gas.

I've been considering a tri-fuel conversion, so I could run it on propane. Figured it'd be less stinky, maybe run better, and hopefully less expensive to run. And of course, propane stores better...

I was looking at this particular kit:

Generator Tri-Fuel Conversion Kit for Honda Generators | eBay

Of course, it clearly states 'for GX series engines, mostly single cyl, 13hp or less'. My generator has a 2 cyl GX360 engine, rated 12.2hp. So I figure it qualifies for 2 out of three. Ain't bad :) Any thoughts on if this might work, perhaps with modification to intake? I am a reasonably competent shade-tree mechanic and don't care about intake air plumbing.

If not that, anybody have other suggestions? Or experience with running these things on propane in general? With or without the tri-fuel option. I recently scored a NOS 'backup' carb, so modifying the existing carb isn't a huge deal... it's easy enough to swap. But I like the idea of easily running gas.. if only I ran out of propane, I could drain gas from a car at absolute worse case.

basic stuff...
The generator is stationary... never needs to move. I understand there'd be a loss of output. Not a biggie, as this is way overkill for my needs. I would be running it with a small portable tank.. 10 or 20 gal. And, I'd like to keep it as cheap as possible, as I don't know how long the thing will last. I have a feeling it was used as a job-site unit for many, many years...

Any thoughts greatly appreciated! Thanks in advance.

Matt

·
Registered
191 Posts
VolvoMatt: