Power Equipment Forum banner
1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I am a generator novice, and now interested in a portable generator. I already have an external natural gas hook-up, so I was looking into some of the tri-fuel models- specifically the FIRMAN T08071 and Champion 100416. Both of these machines seem to have very high THD ratings, however (11-14% on the Firman, < 20% on the Champion). Does anyone have experience using generators with THD ratings this high? Any concern for damage to home equipment/electronics? I read that high efficiency boiler circuits (which I have) can be particularly susceptible? It seems like the only alternatives would be 1) a tri-fuel that's 3-4x the price or 2) a generator without the natural gas option ....... thoughts?

Thank you!

·
Registered
25 Posts
I am a generator novice, and now interested in a portable generator. I already have an external natural gas hook-up, so I was looking into some of the tri-fuel models- specifically the FIRMAN T08071 and Champion 100416. Both of these machines seem to have very high THD ratings, however (11-14% on the Firman, < 20% on the Champion). Does anyone have experience using generators with THD ratings this high? Any concern for damage to home equipment/electronics? I read that high efficiency boiler circuits (which I have) can be particularly susceptible? It seems like the only alternatives would be 1) a tri-fuel that's 3-4x the price or 2) a generator without the natural gas option ....... thoughts?

Thank you!
I have the Firman T07571 trifuel gen. 9500/7500. Its loud but ran everything I threw at it (no 240 stuff) for 7 days straight during Ida with out a problem. I picked it up at Costco on sale for $700. I think they are now going for 900 pickup 1000/delivered.

·
Registered
373 Posts

Thank you!
Those are nice generators, but because they are not inverters, they are going to have a higher THD output than you would see with an inverter.