Power Equipment Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello everyone, I'm new to the forum and need some help. I have a Generac xg8000e that's about 10yrs old. It's always done well and never given me a problem until now. This weekend we were hit with an ice storm and the lights went out so I fired up the old generator and all was good. My wife wasn't thinking and I forgot to turn off the breaker, turned on one eye on the stove. Now at first it did turn the stove on with really no problems and then all of a sudden everything went dark. I thought we had just tripped a breaker but come to find out now I'm only getting 120v from 1 terminal of the 240v outlet. I can talk shop all day long about a lawnmower but I'm dumb as a box of rocks messing with a generator so any help is greatly appreciated. They are calling for more ice tomorrow so I'm gonna try to do some looking around this evening. TIA.

·
Registered
264 Posts
Hello everyone, I'm new to the forum and need some help. I have a Generac xg8000e that's about 10yrs old. It's always done well and never given me a problem until now. This weekend we were hit with an ice storm and the lights went out so I fired up the old generator and all was good. My wife wasn't thinking and I forgot to turn off the breaker, turned on one eye on the stove. Now at first it did turn the stove on with really no problems and then all of a sudden everything went dark. I thought we had just tripped a breaker but come to find out now I'm only getting 120v from 1 terminal of the 240v outlet. I can talk shop all day long about a lawnmower but I'm dumb as a box of rocks messing with a generator so any help is greatly appreciated. They are calling for more ice tomorrow so I'm gonna try to do some looking around this evening. TIA.
Was that 240v outlet you tested in your house? If not, you need to test it at the generator.

·
Registered
264 Posts
I checked the outlet at the generator.