Power Equipment Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm probably preachin' to the choir here, but I just found out that my XP8000E that otherwise will crank easy in the summer doesn't want to even turn one rpm when it is 16 degrees. The 9Ah Interstate battery I bought in June has been maintained correctly. Went out there this morning just to crank it and let it run a few minutes in preparation for tonight's single digit rolling blackouts and it does not have enough cold cranking amps to even rotate the crank. Took a jumper battery to get it to turn over. You'd think it would have run in and loosened up sufficiently in the 58 hours it has on it.

What do you guys who live up north do in this situation? It hasn't been in the single digits here since 1909, and only gets in the teens about every five years, so I have no background in dealing with this. Heck, I only put on long pants for the first time this winter three days ago, been wearing shorts and teeshirts otherwise. Is there anything I can do other than jump it to get it to crank over with that 9Ah battery? Old dog needs to learn some new tricks. Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
351 Posts
5W-30 synthetic oil first and foremost for easy winter starting and lots of other reasons. Some folks use dipstick or stick on magnetic heaters. Generac and batteries almost seem to be mutually exclusive, either they won't charge the battery or it is too weak to start the unit, or early battery failure. Some of the whole house units around here have upsized the battery and added maintainers, disconnecting the charging circuitry to avoid the issue totally.

·
Registered
218 Posts
5W-30 synthetic oil, battery maintainer on it all the time, exercise it monthly. Generac GPE 15000. No issues.
Quit whining about the cold, this old man may have to whup your young ####!:ROFLMAO:

·
Registered
85 Posts
Discussion Starter #4