Power Equipment Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
Panda 55/4
13 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Welcome and contribute to this thread since there (as far as I could find) is no other like it on the internet. This is my first post to this forum but I'm highly active on car forums to this day.

What we have is a circa 2002 Fischer Panda 55kw 3-phase 60Hz Asynchronous Generator with 314 hours. Mercedes turbo diesel OM364A. I got this from a neighbor who told me it was running one day and he forgot it was running. Came out in the evening and found it was "very hot" and wasn't making power. I put little credence in what he says however so take that with a huge lump of salt. I decided to take a whack at it and bought it for $2000. It was so clean and runs so smooth I figured I could probably make it work again. I'm an Aerospace Ground Equipment tech from 20 years ago (USAF) and we didn't have this style of generator to play with so this is new to me. It uses a huge bank of capacitors to excite the field.

I contacted Fischer Panda USA and they gave me the actual manual for this thing in German/English but it's VERY hard to understand what they want me to do. The guy at FP told me to "flash-in residual magnetism" and said "touch 24v to H1.1 backend leg". Then the other guy there chimed in with more lingo I'm not familiar with by sending me troubleshooting forms doing impedance and continuity measurements across "Z1.1" and "Z2" etc. More lingo I don't know what they mean. I asked for more information and they told me that's all they can do since they are only supposed to help the original end user AKA "military". So much for that avenue.