Power Equipment Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hello, Ms Newbie here trying to think through an important installation decision.
Currently getting quotes for whole house backup generator. Had first installer appt today.
Considering either Generac or Kohler in 18-22 KW range depending on the load calculation.

One complicating factor:
Electrical meter is on house left side. Gas meter is near the AC units on house right side.

Are there any other advantages / disadvantages of these 2 install options that I'm missing?

Installation options seem to be:

=== Option A: Locate generator on house right near GAS meter.

Need to run electrical 75' under the deck in the backyard to the electrical meter.

Perceived Advantages:
  • Generator would be inside my fence. Prefer this from a safety / vandalism standpoint
  • Running electrical 'seems' safer to me than running gas that distance.
Disadvantages:
  • More noise. It would be closer to master bedroom
  • When deck is redone, careless workers more likely to damage the generator
=== Option B: Locate generator on house left near ELECTRICAL meter

Run gas 75' under the deck in the backyard to the generator on house left side near the electrical meter.

Perceived Disadvantage:
  • Running gas could be riskier when my deck is rebuilt in next 2 years?
Perceived Advantages:
  • 3'rd party servicing would be easier if not behind a fence? ...Though it's on my house projects list to put a Simplex lock on the fence to make that easier.
  • Somewhat less exposed to hail storms than in other location. In 20 years, I've had to replace my roof twice due to hail damage.
  • Less noise. It would be directly outside of laundry room.

·
Registered
526 Posts
build a HD box cover that can be set in place for when the deck is serviced.
run the long electric.
long gas lines are not a good idea as the large dia size for long runs is an issue.