Power Equipment Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm 99.99% sure that I found the jumper that bonds the neutral to ground, but I'm not an electrician and find the schematic confusing. (And it has errors in it like "spark plub" so who knows if it's even trustworthy?)

My multi-meter says this is the correct wire to disconnect for using this unit as emergency home backup via an interlock kit. When I disconnect it, continuity is lost between neutral and ground as tested using the 120V GFCI receptacles. (I have ordered this so that I can easily and safely use the generator stand-alone without having to put the jumper back.)

The yellow/green jumper wire is connected to the metal housing (ground) on one end, and to a lug shared with white wire (which I assume to be neutral) on the other:

This picture better shows the white wire (to right of red) where the yellow/green jumper shares a connection.

Questions:
  • Can someone confirm I have selected the correct jumper to un-bond the neutral? Like I said, continuity between ground and neutral is indeed broken when I disconnect it. I'm just paranoid about starting it up and trying it without someone more experienced weighing in. Schematic is attached.
  • Is my best bet to disconnect the grounded end and loop it back to the same lug as the other end (shared with the white wire)? I don't want to just remove the jumper, in case it gets lost. I could tape off the ground end after disconnecting, but I kind of like the idea of just bolting it down where it can't move around from vibration. (I also don't like how electrical tape breaks down over time.)
One more picture of the whole thing, if needed:

Attachments

·
Registered
222 Posts
The neutral bond is the green and yellow short jumper that is connected from the ground post where the white wire is.
Remove it from both posts and retain it in case you want to reattach it.
Leave the grounding wire on the grounding post only.