Power Equipment Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
57 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
Google likes to send me recommended articles and today it gave me a link to CR's best and worst Inverter generators. Problem is, I don't have access to their reporting. About the only think I can see is that the Briggs and Stratton Q6500 made their worst list. That's the generator I purchased last year... So now I'm wondering which generators they tested and what their list from best to worst looks like and possibly why. I'm mostly wondering why the Q6500 made their worst list.

Anyone have access to CR and if so, would you mind doing a quick Cliffs Notes version for us?

By any chance might this article be w ripoff of the CR report?

Thanks!

·
Registered
76 Posts
I have a CR subscription. So for inverters:

Honda, Yamaha = good
Echo, Ryobi, Westinghouse = meh
Briggs, Champion, Generac = more meh

Yeah, the Briggs & Stratton Q6500 in the "large inverter" category was way below Honda and Yamaha. The major issue was power delivery, and secondly power quality. Basically it cannot deliver what it says, and struggles at surge loads.

So I don't post anything not allowed, the "large" category only included 3 generators.

That red color brand was a 66
That blue color brand was a 51
Your gray color brand was a 32

·
Registered
2,551 Posts
well every one in here knows i bleed red!
GRIN!
sort of a meh on the blue for me...
I have yet to see the blue guys power as good as the red koolaid!

·
Registered
406 Posts
IME CR only tells you the most expensive which is usually the best. USUALLY. Honda is top of the line no question.