Power Equipment Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

· Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have read countless posts regarding not hooking up a generator with a bonded neutral to a 240v 30 amp house connection with a mechanical interlock in the house panel, and still have come away a bit confused.. This is the setup, I have, and for the last three or four years, during power outages, I have been hooking up my bonded generator.to the house connection without any problems. I note that I open all my breakers in the house panel, before I hook up the generator, and then only close the four I care about (fridge, freezer, well pump, and one lighting circuit).. None of these circuits have CGFI outlets, nor CGFI breakers in the panel. Perhaps that is why I am not encountering problems? I am not an electrician, and am slow to understand anything electrical, so only understand these things in very basic terms. From posts I have read, it would seem that the way I have things set up would be considered "bad". Since everything works, I know it is not "bad" from an operational standpoint. So my question is what specific real world risk am I taking? For example, am I putting my generator, house wiring, or appliances being powered at risk of being damaged? Is there a safety risk where I, or others, would have an increased chance of receiving an electrical shock at my generator? Is there some other specific safety risk I am taking? For example, If I was running my generator in a storm, and a lightning struck, is there an increased chance of it flowing back through my generator and blowing it across the yard (We have had a lightning strike hit a tree next to the house which destroyed my phone system, computer, well pump controller, and blew chunks of the tree clear over my house, so I know the power of lightning)? I am asking these basic questions as if there is a significant safety risk, or risk to my generator, I will unhook the wire in my generator, so it has a floating gro