Power Equipment Forum banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
17 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all,

I am new to this forum and came here to hopefully receive some advice on an air compressor system that I would like to put together. I am a retired industrial electrician. I know quite a bit about electric motors and the electricity that runs them but have very little experience with the compressors themselves.

Many years ago, I obtained an old air compressor form this factory where I was working. It is a "Curtis" compressor that was manufactured by the Curtis Pneumatic Machinery Company in St. Louis. The compressor is on a heavy-duty base and it is a 2-cylinder model. I was told that it is a "high pressure" compressor.

The nameplate information on the compressor is as follows:
88 59-5158 Q108
Minimum 300 RPM
etc.

It has a 3-sheave pulley / flywheel on it that is approximately 14" in diameter. The compressor is not frozen up; the pulley / flywheel turns freely. I have a code vessel that I would like to use this compressor with. The vessel is 15" diameter and 36" long. It is rated at 200 PSI, at a maximum temperature of 650° F.

I guess my main question is: what size of a motor do I need for the operation of this compressor? I believe that the compressor originally had a 3 HP, 3-phase, 230V / 460V motor. I am not sure what the horsepower of the motor was.
Of course, I do not have 3-phase power here at my house, so I would be using a single-phase motor and would be
operating it from a 240-volt AC power source.

Thanks for any help with this!

·
Super Moderator
191 Posts