Generac GP15000E 10 Amp Fuse Blows - Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-22-2012, 08:05 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Generac GP15000E 10 Amp Fuse Blows

Good Evening All,
I have a Generac GP15000E gas generator. I can get it started, it will run for 45+- seconds before shutting down because the 10 amp fuse pops.. No load, Nothing connected. I even removed the trickle charger to make sure that wasn't causing abnormal current draw.
I was looking at the wiring diagram and the fuse wiring goes to the a rectifier of some sort and the electronic governor. What I cannot find is information about what I should see for voltages at different points in the fuse circuit.
Has anyone had similar problems? Or have a troubleshooting manual?

Thanks,
Ron
rdmapes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-22-2012, 11:46 PM
Moderator
 
tractornut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: ohio
Posts: 611
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Send a message via Yahoo to tractornut
try putting a load on the generator when you start it even if its just plugging in a lamp the fuse may be blowing as a way of protecting the unit from damage when not powering anything



tractornut is offline  
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-29-2012, 09:28 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Good Evening,
I downloaded the wiring diagram from Generac. It appears that the electronic governor control module is acting up. I called Generac and asked for a troubleshooting guide. No go, they told me I needed to take it in for service. Since I have had the generator less than two years it may be covered under warranty.

I also spoke to the service facility where I dropped the gen set off at. They had one come in this month with a problem with the module. Not sure if this is a common item failure on these or not.

Regards,
rdmapes is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-11-2012, 02:28 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 28
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Did you get it resolved. However, I would like to share that in such cases the first thing you need to do is to check and see if you have voltage at the starter contactor.
redstargenerator is offline  
post #5 of 12 (permalink) Old 01-28-2015, 02:32 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks for posting here informationů I have searched from this site.. It is amazing..
Apple206 is offline  
post #6 of 12 (permalink) Old 02-19-2018, 02:26 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2018
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
I have the same problem. I have a GP15000E and it only has about 8 Hrs run time on it. I had it for eight years now. and i went to run it for a while and it did the same thing. I start it it and it only runs for about 10 seconds and pops the 10 amp fuse
RichS is offline  
post #7 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-11-2018, 05:14 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Where exactly is that fuse?
dwsmith08066 is offline  
post #8 of 12 (permalink) Old 06-22-2018, 06:59 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by dwsmith08066 View Post
Where exactly is that fuse?
It's on the back side of the power center. Mine just started blowing and I'm trying to figure out why.....
tim5055 is offline  
post #9 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-22-2019, 06:43 PM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Out of shear desperation I put a 25 amp fuse instead and it ran through the rest of the day, about 4 hours. Calling in to Generac with a massive power outage in the area helped identify what the issue may be, the 10 amp fuse. But no help with what blew the fuse. It's not a short circuit but an excessive load in that circuit.
Loren is offline  
post #10 of 12 (permalink) Old 07-23-2019, 08:35 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2019
Location: Peterborough, UK
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Loren View Post
Out of shear desperation I put a 25 amp fuse instead and it ran through the rest of the day, about 4 hours. Calling in to Generac with a massive power outage in the area helped identify what the issue may be, the 10 amp fuse. But no help with what blew the fuse. It's not a short circuit but an excessive load in that circuit.

You do occasionally find this - obviously replacing the fuse with a bigger one carries some risk, so just take some precautions and make sure you have a fire extinguisher nearby... but hopefully you wont have any issues now

Here to help! If I can help, I will help!
If you can help yourself, try and help yourself - its a great way to learn!
A good selection of generator FAQ's and diesel generators uk
Charlie Farrow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome