EU7000 running problem, mystery - Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums
User Tag List

 3Likes
Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 41 (permalink) Old 02-05-2020, 12:44 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
EU7000 running problem, mystery

so, cant figure this one out. my eu7000 has been running great until last week.
it's start to stumble a little and this will continue fir a few minutes until it stalls.
this unit is used daily and has thousands of hours on it. i replaced the fuel strainer/filter, plug, air filter and oil. adjusted valves which were very tight when i checked. still happening, both the fuel pump and injector were replaced about 2 years ago. it's also on it's 3rd GCU and like i said, it's got about 3 thousand hours. i have a new fuel injector on order. looking for some other thoughts on the stalling. it sounds to me like it's not getting enough fuel but, i don't know why. i also blew though the fuel line and its clear.
after stalling, it will usually start up again fine. though one time it took about 20 minutes before wanting to start.
orionpaxx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 41 (permalink) Old 02-05-2020, 03:11 PM
Senior Member
 
tabora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Posts: 381
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 75 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by orionpaxx View Post
so, cant figure this one out. my eu7000 has been running great until last week.
...it sounds to me like it's not getting enough fuel but, i don't know why.
1. Check to be certain that the fuel tank is venting properly.
2. Pull the O2 sensor in the exhaust (#11 - 35655-Z1C-C01 SENSOR, OXYGEN) and check it for carbon buildup. If it's gunked up, clean it and reinstall. If you have not been running the EU7000is with ECO mode turned off for 10 minutes after startup, start doing so. It takes a while to get the exhaust up to temperature.

Last edited by tabora; 02-05-2020 at 03:28 PM.
tabora is online now  
post #3 of 41 (permalink) Old 02-05-2020, 03:34 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Thanks! I just pulled o2 and cleaned. Looked ok. The funny thing is, I’ve run this generator on eco most of the time for the last 5 years. This problem started about a week ago and about 3 weeks ago I switched eco mode off and it’s been that way since. Almost seems like it can keep up fine when eco is on but starts to act like fuel issues with eco off....
orionpaxx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 41 (permalink) Old 02-05-2020, 05:12 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
so it just ran great for an hour on eco, as soon as i put a 2000watt load on it it stumbled for about 15 seconds and died.
orionpaxx is offline  
post #5 of 41 (permalink) Old 02-05-2020, 05:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Have you checked for fault codes? I can’t recall off the top of my head on how, but I have a shop manual at home.Symptomatic diagnosis can be a real crap shoot.

Stupid question Have you check for proper fuel tank venting? I know it’s a high pressure fuel system and not gravity fed but it’s worth a shot.

Also have you checked the Spark arrester in the muffler?

Last edited by drmerdp; 02-05-2020 at 05:31 PM.
drmerdp is offline  
post #6 of 41 (permalink) Old 02-05-2020, 09:20 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: ottumwa, iowa usa
Posts: 89
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Garage
easy to check the fuel cap!!
just leave it loose!!
then see if it is ok then!!
also check the tank for water in the tank!!
we have had a bunch of issues with water in the fuel as of late..
are you running stabile in the fuel??
it helps with the water issues!
also run a batch of seafoam brand to help with the injection..

acts like you have a plugged screen on the fuel!!
do you have an injector tester??
they make flusher tester units where you can look at the spray..
nice to see if you have junk in the nozzle!!
let me know if you need links for those items!!

drain the fuel tank in a clean bucket and check for water!!
and order a spare fuel cap!!
those carbon tall caps are all junk.. I replace them with the shorter caps like on the 6500!!
the gasoline seals the vent on the tall caps!!
no tsb yet on this from honda but it is on the service manual check sheet for fuel issues!!

Thanks Paul in Iowa
see my Honda generator Group at https://hondagenerator.groups.io/g/main
iowagold is online now  
post #7 of 41 (permalink) Old 02-06-2020, 11:03 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2018
Location: Northern NJ
Posts: 64
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Checking for codes.

1. Key on.
2. Press and hold the function button for 3 seconds.
3. Cycle through the code list by pressing the function button.
drmerdp is offline  
post #8 of 41 (permalink) Old 02-06-2020, 06:21 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
thanks! so, no error code, no spark arrestor, I do not have an injector tester, but I did pull it and let it shoot into a cup, visually the spray was strong and fairly wide. I have a aftermarket gas cap. I tried running with the cap loose and had the same issue. I think I'll drain the tank and refill in case there's water.
any thoughts on pulling the vent hose off the canister?
orionpaxx is offline  
post #9 of 41 (permalink) Old 02-06-2020, 07:43 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
just drained the tank, there was water in it. put in a few oz of stabil and fresh gas. still happening. will run fine with no load on eco, but as soon as I switch it non-eco it dies... out of ideas.
orionpaxx is offline  
post #10 of 41 (permalink) Old 02-06-2020, 08:03 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2020
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
well, on a scary note. I just realized that the hour meter says 0 for hours run... I'm feeling like that's a sure sign of GCU failure
orionpaxx is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome