Power Outage - Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums
User Tag List

 1Likes
  • 1 Post By exmar
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-06-2020, 03:45 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Power Outage

Power went out about 11AM, got a text from the utility, AEP restoration expected by 430 today. Went out to barn and got the Generac 3750, started it up and connected. Currently running an upright freezer, side by side Frig, two desktop computers, flat screen tv, Roku, router, a few lights, and charging a couple of phones. This is an "open frame," non inverter unit. Looked it up and I bought this in Sept. 09 and it's been powering essentially the same things for ten years during outages with no issues.

Not trying to start any range wars as it seems the prevailing opinion here is inverter units for "sensitive electronics." Just suggesting an alternative to spending big bucks for a much more complex unit when it may not be needed.
Osviur likes this.
exmar is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 01-06-2020, 07:55 PM
Senior Member
 
tabora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Posts: 326
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 56 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by exmar View Post
...Generac 3750...
I ran a Generac 3500XL in the same fashion from 1998 until it broke a valve in 2017, and I grabbed a PowerMate 6000/7500 off a truck at Home Depot while I waited for parts. Still have both units and they continue to impress me with the quality of the power, but my APC SmartUPS will not run on either of them. Everything else does, though.
tabora is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old Yesterday, 09:19 AM
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: West Boston suburb
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Tabora, the APC unit needs a relatively stable and precise frequency. My APC UPS system acted the same until I changed to an inverter generator, which solved the issue.
Melson is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old Today, 09:23 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
I think as long as you look after your generator and keep it running smoothly, you shouldnt need fancy inverter generators?

No normal UPS will run through a generator, you need a "generator friendly UPS" and they are great, I have one running all my stuff in the main sitting room, so when the power goes off, I dont really notice it. Then before the battery power dies (lasts about 1-2hrs depending whats running) I just hook the UPS to the generator... A brillient idea to having a UPS and a generator if you want no powerloss or interruption.

Last edited by speedy2019; Today at 09:42 AM.
speedy2019 is online now  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old Today, 01:13 PM
KRE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NE. Alabama
Posts: 320
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 41 Post(s)
The issue with most UPS system is the windows are set for utility power. Those windows can be opened on most UPS systems to except the voltage an Hertz differences, as well as the fluctuations. The UPS end product will be the same. Should the issue be transients do to alternator design, a small unity power factor load can be added or in some cases a Cap will correct the gen set wave form enough the UPS will except same.

Once you know how a device, system, ect operates, finding the root cause in the event chain is easy. Until then, you will always be chasing/repairing the effects. Learning is a life time event, if you want to outsmart, whatever item you want to repair.
KRE is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old Today, 02:27 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
When I run the UPS on the generator the input readings on the UPS are nowhere near as static as the mains power.
speedy2019 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in













Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome