Did you have metal shavings/bits on the first oil change? - Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-24-2019, 08:10 PM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Did you have metal shavings/bits on the first oil change?

I have read on the net that when you change the oil for the first time, you should get metal shavings/bits in the oil, from the engine, but I didn't get any. Now I am slightly worried that they could still be in the oil, because I didn't warm the engine up to make the oil run out quick/freely and Im thinking that the metal shavings got left behind?

Last edited by speedy2019; 10-24-2019 at 08:13 PM.
speedy2019 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-24-2019, 08:55 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 86
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
When I got my Honda 2000eu and companion, I got one of the oil filler plugs that has a magnet. Put the oil in, then that plug and ran it for a few minutes. It did pick up some metal particles, not a lot and probably just that left over from the manufacturing process, in my opinion.
jkingrph is online now  
post #3 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-24-2019, 11:08 PM
Senior Member
 
tabora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedy2019 View Post
...metal shavings/bits in the oil, from the engine, but I didn't get any...
1. It's usually just a "sparkle", not big bits.
2. Did you run the original oil 20 hours before changing? It really takes about 12-20 hours for a small engine to complete the break-in process properly. Going too short on the break-in can be worse than leaving the oil in too long. I always do what the engineers specified in the owners manual. See here: New Engine Break-in Procedure
tabora is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-25-2019, 09:45 AM Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 108
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 29 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tabora View Post
1. It's usually just a "sparkle", not big bits.
2. Did you run the original oil 20 hours before changing? It really takes about 12-20 hours for a small engine to complete the break-in process properly. Going too short on the break-in can be worse than leaving the oil in too long. I always do what the engineers specified in the owners manual. See here: New Engine Break-in Procedure
I have had the generator running for roughly 8-10 hours, 20-30mins a month with a light load to keep it running well since feb-march time. I would of left it longer but I put summer oil in that only goes down to 6c and thats no good for the winter months, so I had to change it as its getting colder here now...... Where are you from, as I was quite impressed you saying you have put 400hrs on yours?In my 40 years of being alive I havent had anymore then 200hrs worth of powercuts.
speedy2019 is online now  
post #5 of 5 (permalink) Old 10-25-2019, 03:48 PM
Senior Member
 
tabora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Posts: 343
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by speedy2019 View Post
Where are you from, as I was quite impressed you saying you have put 400hrs on yours?In my 40 years of being alive I havent had anymore then 200hrs worth of powercuts.
Maine, USA. I don't know where you got the 400 hours from; but between my 4 generators, I have 1000's of hours of runtime since the early 1980s. Power cuts are not the only reason to run a generator, although I ran my big Powermate over 50 hours last week after a Nor'Easter cut power to about a quarter-million homes & businesses in Maine.

I have a cottage on an island where all our power comes from an Onan Microlite 2.8 (and formerly a PowerMate PM1500) and we run it 4-6 hours a day when we're there. I also have a portable Generac on a cart that we take into the woods when building structures or doing wood cutting/splitting where there's no utility power.
tabora is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome