Do I need to ground a portable generator? - Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-22-2019, 10:49 AM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Do I need to ground a portable generator?

Newbie here... I know this has been covered before, but for some reason I keep reading conflicting opinions in various threads.

I bought myself a Honda EU2200i portable generator for basic emergency use - like powering a refrigerator. I noticed it does not come with GFCI outlets, but it does have a ground terminal. The Honda industrial version EB2200i does have GFCI (should I have bought that?).

I have read a little about floating and bonded neutrals and while I will continue to read more, my question is hopefully simple.

Under what circumstances would I need to use the grounding terminal on my EU2200i? I assume there is no harm in NOT using it since every video on YouTube shows it running without being connected to a 6' spike?

Thank you.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-22-2019, 01:55 PM

Quoted: 35 Post(s)
A generator not connected to a building's main panel/grounding system is a "separately derived system" and should itself be grounded, providing a reference ground for all devices it serves.

Generator Grounding
post #3 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-22-2019, 02:12 PM Thread Starter

I'm sorry Tabora...I appreciate the link, but it doesn't help. The second sentence in that link says this:
Quote:
Ground rods (grounding electrodes) are only required if the generator is a separately derived system.
So does that mean we're all doing it wrong?
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 12 (permalink) Old 08-22-2019, 05:30 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by Robh View Post
I'm sorry Tabora...I appreciate the link, but it doesn't help. The second sentence in that link says this:

So does that mean we're all doing it wrong?