earthing question - Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 09:04 AM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
earthing question

In the uk england we use the 3pin plug, (live, negative, earth) so these countries that use the 2pin plug, how do they manage with no earth as Im guessing the 2pin plug is only the live and negative?

Last edited by speedy2019; 08-12-2019 at 11:06 PM.
speedy2019 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 06:42 PM
Super Moderator
 
motormonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
I'm not up on British terminology, but here's a translation of sorts. The "live" you refer to is the line or hot conductor that has the voltage on it. The "negative" you refer to is the neutral return path conductor. No current can flow without a return path. (This is AC so it's not really negative.) The "earth" you refer to is the ground conductor. It is usually connected to any exposed metal parts of an appliance to prevent any voltage from being present on them in the event of a wiring defect. A lot of small appliances with no exposed metal parts do not require the ground conductor, thus the two pin plug.
motormonkey is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 09:19 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
The two-pin plugs in the US as discussed above are only for so-called "double insulated" 120V appliances and tools. If you can touch a metal part that could be energized, the item should have a proper 3-pin grounded plug.

The cable from a 230V appliance in the UK usually consists of three wires, an earth and two live wires (line and neutral) which carry the current (people often think that only the line wire is called live, but both neutral and line are live wires). The wires are made of copper surrounded by a plastic sheath. The sheath is made of plastic and is coloured:
  • The live wire is maroon
  • The neutral wire is blue
  • The earth wire is green and yellow
tabora is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-12-2019, 11:04 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
But your house sockets in the US has only 2 holes not 3, so what happens when you use a appliance that needs a earth, like a kettle or power tool for example, as most of our kettles and power tools use all 3(live,neutral and earth) in the uk england.

Last edited by speedy2019; 08-12-2019 at 11:56 PM.
speedy2019 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-13-2019, 01:25 PM
Super Moderator
 
motormonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Posts: 147
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Quote:
But your house sockets in the US has only 2 holes not 3...
Those two hole outlets are only present in older houses wired before electrical codes required grounded outlets.
motormonkey is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-13-2019, 02:24 PM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Posts: 194
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
3-pin grounded outlets have been required by the U.S. NEC since 1968...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg B_plug.jpg (9.3 KB, 1 views)
tabora is online now  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 08-13-2019, 04:12 PM Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Posts: 60
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tabora View Post
3-pin grounded outlets have been required by the U.S. NEC since 1968...
Ah right, just because the electrical things I buy from other countries all come with 2pin plugs. They probably dont need a 3pin,, but everything here in the uk, england comes with a 3 pin plug regardless if the earth pin is needed or not... So thats why Im thinking that you guys only have the 2pin outlets.

Like I have just bought a new monitor and thats come with a uk, england 3pin power lead and the 2pin power lead for other countries
speedy2019 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome