User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-30-2019, 04:51 PM Thread Starter
FFM

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Post purchase advice

I run a small farmers market, and we are looking to purchase a new generator. On a heavy day, we'll be running 4 or 5 mini refrigerators, maybe 2 small chest freezers, our sound system (only has one speaker) and maybe 5 small fans. Any advice on how many watts to purchase? Any advice is welcomed and very much appreciated! Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 04-30-2019, 07:05 PM

Quoted: 5 Post(s)
YOU need to determine required wattage yourself. Look at all those units you will be using and add up wattage. On refrigerators and freezers you need to consider starting wattage. I'm no expert on that so would probably add about 50% for each for startup wattage.

Hopefully someone else who knows more than I will chime in on that.
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-02-2019, 12:22 PM

Quoted: 44 Post(s)
Here's a generator load calculator that may be helpful...
Attached Images
File Type: jpg portable-generator-wattage-chart.jpg (208.9 KB, 14 views)
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 05-08-2019, 11:40 AM