Hello Forum Members - Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums
User Tag List

 6Likes
  • 1 Post By aldfam4
  • 1 Post By aldfam4
  • 1 Post By aldfam4
  • 1 Post By aldfam4
  • 1 Post By tabora
  • 1 Post By aldfam4
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-18-2019, 06:53 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Hello Forum Members

Hello to everyone. I am from the Western New York area and have plenty of power equipment. I currently am looking for help with a Coleman Powermate Generator which starts up fine but outlets are putting out electricity.
Just finished storing my snow blowers and pulled out my Toro Lawnmower - got it all cleaned up and true to form, started on the first pull.
So I picked up a Coleman Generator 5000 running (6250) peak. A friend gave it to me because he was getting a new one. I got it knowing it starts up but does run plugged in items. I did some continuity tests on the stator and all wires and connectors were fine. I did have to solder a wire back on the rotor that was broken off. With all that said - I still cannot get the generator to produce electrical power. I am including a couple of photos of what I perceive to be a problem on the AVR board but am not sure what the part is called and whether it can be fixed or is even the problem.

So quick question - if the avr board is the problem, can that effect the production of electricity on the generator?
Please look at the 2 photos and if you can let me know if that is my problem. I'm trying to learn more about diodes and capacitators, so this is kind of new to me.

Thanks,
Tim
Attached Images
File Type: jpg avr board1.jpg (23.7 KB, 12 views)
File Type: jpg avr board2.jpg (28.3 KB, 11 views)
waynewhite likes this.
aldfam4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-18-2019, 06:56 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
(edit) it does not run electrical components when plugged in.
Tim
waynewhite likes this.
aldfam4 is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-19-2019, 01:10 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Coleman Generator 5000 help

Hello Forum members,

I am reposting this in the appropriate thread. I picked up a Coleman Generator 5000 running (6250) peak. A friend gave it to me because he was getting a new one. I got it knowing it starts up but does run plugged in items. I did some continuity tests on the stator and all wires and connectors were fine. I did have to solder a wire back on the rotor that was broken off. With all that said - I still cannot get the generator to produce electrical power. I am including a couple of photos of what I perceive to be a problem on the AVR board but am not sure what the part is called and whether it can be fixed or is even the problem.

So quick question - if the avr board is the problem, can that effect the production of electricity to the outlets on the generator?
Please look at the 2 photos and if you can let me know if that is my problem. I'm trying to learn more about diodes and capacitators, so this is kind of new to me. I am guessing when I say they could be capacitators, but there are 3 round blue ones in a row. The middle one looks burned. Anyway, I appreciate any help on this matter.
Thanks,
Tim
Attached Images
File Type: jpg avr board1.jpg (23.7 KB, 5 views)
File Type: jpg avr board2.jpg (28.3 KB, 4 views)
waynewhite likes this.
aldfam4 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-21-2019, 11:11 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Problem has been resolved!!!
waynewhite likes this.
aldfam4 is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 04-25-2019, 12:29 PM
Senior Member
 
tabora's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Cape Elizabeth, Maine
Posts: 346
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 60 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aldfam4 View Post
Problem has been resolved!!!
How? Let us know about your experience to help others in the future!
waynewhite likes this.
tabora is online now  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-27-2019, 10:41 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2019
Posts: 11
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by tabora View Post
How? Let us know about your experience to help others in the future!
I replaced a defective circuit board with a used one from another machine.
waynewhite likes this.
aldfam4 is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 01-07-2020, 12:57 AM
Junior Member
 
waynewhite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Location: USA
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by aldfam4 View Post
Problem has been resolved!!!
Good to see this, all members can get help here, they can discuss their problems and definitely will get solutions by others.
waynewhite is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome