Craftsman compressor starting and stopping - Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 (permalink) Old 09-24-2019, 08:23 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Craftsman compressor starting and stopping

New to the forum here and hoping to get some help. Just got a good deal on a used craftsman air compressor model 919-16560 and it turns on for a few seconds then shuts off for about 10-15 seconds then turns on and continuously does this pattern. Now if I turn the motor on with the switch and after it shuts off, I turn the switch off, after about 10-15 seconds I hear a click around the motor and can then flip the switch and it will turn back on for a few seconds otherwise if I dont hear that click, it wont turn back on. Anyone have any idea what it could be? Thanks for any advice!
Tjb393 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-02-2019, 10:48 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: San Diego
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Tjb393,

Sounds like it could be the thermal overload switch. Does the motor imediately run Hot? Is it drawing too many amps? a clamp on ameter would tell you that. Amps drawn running should be within listed FLA on the motor tag. When first running a compressor (before the air ressure builds up) motor should use less currnet than FLA. Mine uses 10 amps at empty (no pressure in the tank) and 15 amps @165PSI. If it is the thermal protection constantly tripping see: https://www.groschopp.com/resources/...hooting-guide/

Stephen

Last edited by stevon; 10-03-2019 at 01:40 PM.
stevon is offline  
post #3 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-03-2019, 12:25 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: San Diego
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Capacitor

Tjb393,

Sounds like the run capacitor could also be a problem. A clamp on ameter will help diagnose the issue. they are cheap at Harbor freight. https://www.harborfreight.com/digita...ter-96308.html

Stephen

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevon View Post
Tjb393,

Sounds like it could be the thermal overload switch. Does the motor imediately run Hot? Is it drawing too many amps? a clamp on ameter would tell you that. Amps drawn running should be within listed FLA on the motor tag. When first running a compressor (before the air ressure builds up) motor should use less currnet than FLA. Mine uses 10 amps at empty (no pressure in the tank) and 15 amps @165PSI.

Stephen

Last edited by stevon; 10-03-2019 at 01:17 PM. Reason: harbor freight
stevon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-04-2019, 12:08 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Thanks for the response, I'll pick up one of those meters and check it out to try to see what's going on with it.
Tjb393 is offline  
post #5 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-13-2019, 03:58 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2019
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Finally got a chance to test it and for the 2-3 seconds that it runs before it shuts off, its reading around 85 amps and according to the tag on the motor, it has a max of 14. Any idea what my next move might be?

Quote:
Originally Posted by stevon View Post
Tjb393,

Sounds like it could be the thermal overload switch. Does the motor imediately run Hot? Is it drawing too many amps? a clamp on ameter would tell you that. Amps drawn running should be within listed FLA on the motor tag. When first running a compressor (before the air ressure builds up) motor should use less currnet than FLA. Mine uses 10 amps at empty (no pressure in the tank) and 15 amps @165PSI. If it is the thermal protection constantly tripping see: https://www.groschopp.com/resources/...hooting-guide/

Stephen
Tjb393 is offline  
post #6 of 6 (permalink) Old 10-13-2019, 08:30 PM
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: San Diego
Posts: 71
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Tjb39,

If you have the time and ambition you can try to figure this out. If not I have a cheap smith+Jones 3hp (actually 2 HP overated) Harbor Freight motor you can have for the shipping cost to send it to you. You may have a bad run or start capacitor, start clutch or a toasted winding. Discharge the capacitors for safety (screwdriver across the terminals) and test them. while the caps are disconnected test windings to ground and each other. See the process at:
https://www.hunker.com/13414244/how-to-test-ac-motors

Stephen


Quote:
Originally Posted by Tjb393 View Post
Finally got a chance to test it and for the 2-3 seconds that it runs before it shuts off, its reading around 85 amps and according to the tag on the motor, it has a max of 14. Any idea what my next move might be?

Last edited by stevon; 10-14-2019 at 01:14 PM. Reason: testing
stevon is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome