Air compressor newbie - Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-15-2019, 05:08 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Air compressor newbie

Good afternoon (depending on when you read this).

I have two questions. While I say I am an air compressor newbie i am mechanically inclined to the point I break a lot of stuff. Kidding aside, I understand the mechanics of an air compressor but I don't know brand quality and very specific mechanical flexibility.

Without further ado:

Question 1. I just procured a Dayton Speedair 30 Gal, 2hp air compressor from a neighbor. Motor date code is B853 and model 3Z421E. What do I have? This will matter on question 2.

Question 2. The motor is a 115v/240v 2hp. It was not hooked up and power cord was cut at the motor. The person I got it from said he got it from another friend about 4-5 years ago and that the friend said it worked. Now I did not fall out of a turnip truck last night, it was actually the night before so I went into this assuming that I'd have to fix something - either the motor, the pump or both. While I noticed the dual voltage because I do not have 220 in the garage I assumed I was fine until I noticed the Amps were 24. I have 20a service to the garage. Should I A) - Hook it up anyhow, B) - Look for a smaller motor, C) - look for a smaller motor and smaller rated pump D) - just go buy a new one. Or is there something else I can do? Is it ok to hook up a smaller motor (1 or 1.5hp) to 2 hp pump?

Thank you for any advise you
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 8 (permalink) Old 06-17-2019, 11:35 AM

Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Dano,