45KV 220volt Generator - Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums
User Tag List

 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-27-2011, 10:21 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 1
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
45KV 220volt Generator

I work for a small hotel which has an older "Generac" generator.
The natural-gas powered short block Chevy V8, with 670 hrs on the clock, runs like a champ.
The Generac control system, however is starting to get finicky.
Sometimes it won't start without a little jiggling.
I feel like the best course would be to replace the control system, but I don't like the idea of using generac.
Any recommendations for other brands of controllers?
That and any other input would be welcome.
Thanks,
Bruce
Bruce Audretsch is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-28-2011, 08:21 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Worth a try. Disconnect power, loosen then tighten all electrical connections.
cedgo is offline  
post #3 of 7 (permalink) Old 10-28-2011, 09:25 AM
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 163
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
If you ever want it to work correctly again you better be talking to Generac. You could burn down your hotel if you jury rig or do something wrong. At least have a qualified electrician do it. Roger
rhenning is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #4 of 7 (permalink) Old 11-30-2011, 05:55 PM
KRE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NE. Alabama
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruce Audretsch View Post
Sometimes it won't start without a little jiggling.
Jiggling what? Will it start an run in auto when called for, or do you mean your having trouble getting it to turn over? Or will it turn over an not start? You can change the panel to something different but it's not a simple change. The Voltage regulator, an field start/excitation circuits are built into those panels. Generac's are not as simple as most (quality) unit's are, to change the control panel, but again it can be done. I'd just fix the old one if it were me, might be as simple as one or both toggle switch's, which is common.
KRE is offline  
post #5 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-01-2011, 07:35 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Hey KRE,
Came here looking for a pro. Would you mind a question?
Have a Dayton Model # 3W015G generator coupled to a 10HP B&S engine.
I believe the "bridge rectifier?" has failed. Could you advise on a replacement or fix?
Part #51760-1. Been all over the net with no results. Not the brightest bulb here.
cedgo is offline  
post #6 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-01-2011, 08:42 AM
KRE
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: NE. Alabama
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 38 Post(s)
cedgo, You can check the bridge with a simple meter, as it is only made up of diodes. If it is a full wave, there will be 4 hook up points in a square. One of the points will have a dot, flat spot, or other identifying mark, that the others do not have. The one with the mark will be the D/C +, the one in the opposite 45* corner will be the D/C -, the other two will be A/C inputs. All A/C power flows to the D/C + only. Any reverse reading an the bridge is defective. If it's static, you can replace it easily. If it's rotating you will have to dig deep an try to locate one that is about the same size, an mounting style. If you do a search on, Bridge rectifiers, you can find a suitable replacement most every time. Case in point Generac, they will tell you some parts are not serviceable or sold for repair ie, Automatic Transfer Switch, coil clearing contacts. They will sell you the hole mechanism, which is more money than a complete new switch. A customer had some fail on his 400amp ATS, I dug around an found the replacement micro switch's for 98 cents each. Customer total bill was $265.00 (travel, labor an parts)New replacement ATS installed at the site would have been, $4800.00. Some manufacturers, are only in the making an selling business, with planned obsolescence as their driving goal.

Last edited by KRE; 12-01-2011 at 08:45 AM. Reason: spelling
KRE is offline  
post #7 of 7 (permalink) Old 12-02-2011, 07:54 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Thanks for the information sir! Assume this is the static, because it measures approx 3"X2"X1" and bolts to the frame. Will test this weekend.
cedgo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in










Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome