Moving shop speedaire compressor to home. Motor swap recommendations. - Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums
User Tag List

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-15-2011, 09:36 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Moving shop speedaire compressor to home. Motor swap recommendations.

Hey guys I've got a speedaire 30 gallon unit with a 3 phase motor on it at my shop and I'm transporting to the house for home use and I'm looking for a 115/240 v motor to put in place of the 3 phase motor. Any recommendations? Here is the link of the compressor that I have.

Compressor, Air, 3.0 HP - Stationary Electric Air Compressors - Air Compressors and Vacuum Pumps - 4B237 : Grainger Industrial Supply

I found this 2 hp 120/240 motor on craigslist and it looks like a good possible swap candidate but I am going to be operating it on 115 volt and just wondering if this motor can handle the speedaire pump. It's rated at 1750 rmp's. I could buy a motor that is rated at 3450 rmp but it's new at grainger at lot more expensive.

Air compressor motor 2hp 115/230v ac - BRAND NEW

The price on this craigslist motor is right but I just want to make sure this is going to run my pump and not strain the motor too much or anything. I've got a welder and fabrication skills as well as some minor electrical making a motor bolt up and run is not an issue for me. What I don't know is if this motor is properly sized for the pump. It seems like it should be fine. It's the motor that came on the Dewalt D55580 twin 8 gallon tank emglo type compressors. My boss used to have one when I was doing construction for him and that was a solid compressor.

Anyhow any help or input is appreciated. Thanks
reliablecycles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-15-2011, 09:38 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Also, What is the benefit if any of a higher rpm motor? Can someone explain this? I know I see common rmp's of somewhere around 1700 and the other is somewhere around 3500. Pros? Cons? thanks in advance.
reliablecycles is offline  
post #3 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-16-2011, 08:41 AM
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: IL
Posts: 74
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
For sure you are going to want the same RPMs.
You didn't say what the HP is on the 3PH motor.
cedgo is offline  
post #4 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-16-2011, 09:49 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The HP on the 3 Phase motor is 3 HP. The RPM rating on Graingers site for my compressor is 1020. The rpm of the motor I want to put on it is a 1750 and it's a 2 HP motor. I think it seems fairly closely matched and should operated okay but I'm no expert. Thoughts? I know I can make it happen but question is will I destroy my motor? The price is right on the motor so worst case scenario I run it and see how it does and replace it if necessary I guess.
reliablecycles is offline  
post #5 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-17-2011, 03:53 PM
Super Moderator
 
SonnyT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Pittsburg, KS
Posts: 478
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
The RPM difference shouldn't make too much difference, you don't want to go above the 1750 tho. I would be more concerned with the HP being lower, but should work only pull a few more amps than the a 3 hp since it will be using most or all the 2 hp motor has.
SonnyT is offline  
post #6 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-17-2011, 08:53 PM
Moderator
 
89yt12's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: L.A. Lower Alabama (Fairhope)
Posts: 347
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
if you can get a 220v plug at home i would go with a 3hp 220v , but if 120v is all u can do i think you will be ok with the 2hp
89yt12 is offline  
post #7 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-17-2011, 09:11 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Yeah I'm planning on running a 220 circuit at the house anyway. (just gotta wait til my landlord goes outta town so I can get it all in) haha. So, Ideally I would get a 3 HP 1750 rpm motor from grainger but the price tag on that is upwards of 500 bucks. The 2HP one on CL is posted at $120 and seems a little flexible so it's really the price tag that's hanging me up at this point. Wish I could find a 3HP Craigslist motor deal.
reliablecycles is offline  
post #8 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-18-2011, 06:10 PM
Junior Member
 
Roadlizard7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
If you try to use a 2HP motor on a 3HP compressor, you will have to slow the compressor down to about 7-800 RPM instead of 1020, because at slower speeds compressors use less HP. This will require new pulleys on both the motor and compressor, since the motor speeds are different, and you have to change the compressor speed. Sounds like this will be a pain and add expense, so I would keep looking for a 3HP, 3500 RPM, 230V, single phase motor.
A 1750 RPM motor will last longer than a 3500 RPM one and run quieter as well. Just like with a compressor, slower equals longer life and is better.
Roadlizard7 is offline  
post #9 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-19-2011, 05:33 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
You mean keep looking for a 3HP 230v 1750 rpm motor yeah? I think that's what I'd like to do. If I get that Christmas bonus I'll go for a nice dayton. As far as the 1020 rpm rating of the compressor now and jumping to the 1750 rpm motor. Should I worry about swapping pulleys to get the rpms down to the 1020 or does it' really matter? Guess it depends on if I can find a 3hp single phase motor that the current pulley fits on or not otherwise if I have to get a pulley anyway then I could figure out the math to get the rpm's down if it's worth my time. Thoughts? thanks
reliablecycles is offline  
post #10 of 19 (permalink) Old 11-19-2011, 05:43 PM Thread Starter
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Leeson?

Don't know anything about these motors. Does anyone have any input on this brand? thanks

3 HP 1740 1 Phase Compressor Electric Motor 184T 131534 | eBay
reliablecycles is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now



In order to be able to post messages on the Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.

User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.

Password:


Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

Email Address:
OR

Log-in









Human Verification

In order to verify that you are a human and not a spam bot, please enter the answer into the following box below based on the instructions contained in the graphic.



Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page



Posting Rules  
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On

 
For the best viewing experience please update your browser to Google Chrome