Trying to get old Crsftman working - Power Equipment Forum : Power Equipment Forums
User Tag List

LinkBack Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 (permalink) Old 01-03-2017, 04:43 PM Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Trying to get old Crsftman working

Greetings!

I have an old Craftsman 919.174811 air compressor I'm trying to get going. I'm not an expert at all with air compressors, in fact this is my first unit I've ever owned!

It was given to me two or three years ago by a friend who was using it for his waste oil furnace but replaced it and asked me if I wanted it. It worked at the time but had no gauges or anything. I brought it home and put it in the corner of the garage with the intent of working on it...just sort of never got got around to it until now.

I bought a pressure gauge for it and a few days ago I went to plug it in and see if it still worked...it didn't.

It has a replacement plug on it, quite old one. I figured maybe its corroded in there. Well the ground and white wires were actually broken inside and not connected to anything!

Strangely, the black seemed to be connected to the wrong prong. I replaced the plug and wired it according to what it should be. Compressor fires right up, however around 30 PSI the motor seems to sound like its really struggling and it begins to squeak. The first time I ran it it stopped a bit past the 30 mark and wouldn't turn back on. I bled all the air out and turned the switch back on and it came right back on then started doing the same thing. If I open the air bleeder as it gets to 30 PSI and slows down it'll speed back up and sound normal as the pressure is released.

So I guess the first question is what might be the culprit here?